News Updates


What is today known as the School of Languages started as unnamed body of three foundation Departments in May, 1964. The School was later known as the School of Arts along the pattern of the Faculty of Arts in the then University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife). It began with the training of graduates in the Nigeria Certificate in Education (N.C.E.). From 1982, theSchool housed three Departments that offered the B.A. Ed. Programme in English, Yoruba and French in affiliation with the University of Ife. Following the disarticulation of the College administratively in 1991 from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, the School ofLanguages was created from the then School of Arts on 1st August 1993 when it (old School of Arts) was split into the School of Arts and Social Sciences and School ofLanguages in line with the policy of the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE). The Departments were later restructured to include English, French and Nigerian Languages (viz Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba). Each of these units later became substantive Departments bringing the total number of the Departments in the School to five.

Philosophy and Objectives
The basic philosophy of the School is to develop programmes in Language Education that would enhance the training and retraining of competent teachers for the primary and secondary levels of education in the country.
In realizing the philosophy above, the School has the following objectives:
i. to equip the students with basic skills of listening, speaking , reading and writingin the correct and approved orthography of the language;
ii. to teach the students the sounds, lexis and structure of the language;
iii. to expose the students to the available oral and written literatures in the languages;
iv. to familiarize the students with the rich culture of the people through literature;
v. to equip the students with the principles and techniques of teaching the language; and
vi. to equip the students with necessary techniques of updating their knowledge through research.

Staff Profile
The School started with less than ten (10) tutors in 1964. By 1968, there were twenty (20) academic staff in the three Departments: 10 in English, 6 in Yoruba and 4 in French. Fifty years after, the School now has fifty-three (53) academic staff and sixteen (16) administrative staff. The School has a very high rate of staff turnover whereby more than a hundred lecturers have retired, transferred or withdrawn their services from the Departments. It is noteworthy to mention a few of the erudite scholars that had served in the School. They include the likes of Late Professors David Oke, Olanipekun Esan and Yemi Aboderin, Professors Dele Orisawayi, Niyi Amuseghan, Ademola Dasylva, Wale Osisanwo and Mr. Olufemi Adedeji, Doctors Tunde Onadeko, late Oye Arohunmolase, Bayo Afolabi, Olu Akimolafe, Rotimi Taiwo, Niyi Ayeomoni, Olaonipekun Olurankinse, Steve Fatusin, C. B. Nnabuihe, Jimoh Yakubu, Iyanda Balogun and a host of others.

Among the existing staff of the School are scholars of proven academic profile, high moral standard and dynamic social perfoundity. For instance, Dr. Yetunde Akorede, a former Dean of the School and Dr. S. M. Raji have authored over 10 creative works each; some of which are used for public examinations in Nigeria. Dr. Yemi Ogunsiji was the Chairman, Committee of Deans, Acting College Librarian and currently a member of the College Governing Council. Mrs. O. A. Olajuyigbe, Chairperson, Students Disciplinary Committee for over six years. Dr. M. Onuegbu is the current Chairperson of the College Admissions Committee; Dr. N. C. Kamelyu is the current Chairperson of the College Identity Card Committee, College Dressing Code Committee, a member of the Demonstration Secondary School’s Board and Business Committee of Academic Board. The School has produced FOUR out of the seven Chairmen of the Academic Staff Union of the College so far. Virtually every staff of the School is involved in one Committee or the other in the College.

School of Languages’ Alumni Profile
Since inception, the School has continued to produce students that effectively project the vision, mission and aspiration of the School. Professor Tunde Ajiboye was one of the earliest French students in the School. A good number of the current lecturers in the School and other tertiary institutions in Nigeria and overseas are distinguished products of the School. They include Dr. Lanre Atoyebi, Associate Professor Tunde Onadeko, Dr. Tunde Akinsami. Some old students of the School served as school principals and public administrators. They include Chief O.A. Akinmoladun, Mr. Tolu Adedayo of Ondo State Radio Vision Corporation (OSRC), Mrs. Nike Fatogun, former Commissioner of Education in Ondio State and Deputy Registrar in LASU and Prince Kashim Afegbua, Senior Special Assistance (SSA) to Edo State Governor. The School has trained over sixty percent of the language teachers in public and private schools and colleges in the South-Western part of Nigeria.

Other Accomplishments
Cultural troupes and Drama groups based in the School have presented command performances at virtually all social and public events in the College. Staff and students of the School have engaged in ground-breaking research and academic developmental programmes. Students of the French Department have been coming tops in the Inter-University French Language Competition organized in the French Village (Badagry) annually for over six years running. Students trained in the Oratory Skill Competition supervised by staff of the School recently came second at the National Annual Youth Debate organized by the Federal Ministry of Education, Abuja involving all tertiary institutions in Nigeria. Apart from the efficiency of the products of this School in Language teaching, they are also noted to have excelled in other areas of human endeavours such as Journalism, Law, Commerce and Industry, Politics and so on.

List of Deans to Date
7. DR. J. O. OJO
8. Dr. R. A. Adesuyan


Location: Ondo-Ore Road, Ondo.

Postal Address: P.M.B. 520, Ondo State Nigeria

Tel: +2348051446122; +2348056893456
[email protected]
CALLS: 8am-4pm, Monday-Friday